Fakhar Zaman Replaces Usman Qadir In Pakistan’s T20 World Cup Lineup

Fakhar Zaman Replaces Usman Qadir In Pakistan's T20 World Cup Lineup
Fakhar Zaman has been included in the Pakistan squad for this year's T20 World Cup, replacing leg-spinner Usman Qadir. 

The 24-year-old was expected by many to make his international debut against Sri Lanka last week but he didn't play because of an injury which forced him out during training earlier today (Friday). This means that there are now just two places left at stake - one each available through qualifications and joint ventures between India

Hard-hitting batter Fakhar Zaman was finally included in the Pakistan squad for this year's T20 World Cup, replacing leg spinner Usman Qadir who has yet to recover from an injury. The PCB announced that while their leading bowler will remain absent due fresh concerns over his thumb he did manage join up with A-"reserves."

“Usman Qadir is yet to recover from a hairline fracture on his right thumb that he suffered during the 25 September T20I against England in Karachi. As such, PCB has decided not be available for selection before 22 October," it said at press conference today."

The team's selection for the two warm-up matches against England and Afghanistan will be announced soon. Zaman has been invited to participate in these games after his recent injury rehabilitation, during which he'll play club level cricket again."

Zaman is out for the rest of this T20I series after getting injured during field practice on Friday. He will travel to London with Afridi so they can both rehab their respective injuries, but it doesn't look like either one has enough match fitness right now - which means we might see some unfamiliar faces when these two teams meet again in two warm-up games before moving onto international competition.

Pakistan T20 World Cup squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shan Masood.

Traveling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir.